Candy King

There are a few things that are common in both of our countries. One of those is that we both have various kinds of candies (K: lollies!) to choose from in the store if you feel like something sweet. The brands are different though, most notably the major chocolate brands, where we have Marabou and Cloetta she has Cadbury. A more major difference though, is that here in Sweden you can compose your own bag of candies (K: lollies!  We have that too, but only at specialty stores).

Almost every major grocery store has a wall, often close to the checkout, full of pick & mix candy tubs from which you can scoop your favourite pieces into your own little paper bag (K: or bucket). And when I say little, I mean big. Because if they offer you a big bag, you’re likely to buy more. Just another way to trick you into spending more money I guess (K: you don’t havvveee to be fooled by it).

But when it comes to which pieces to pick, it can get a little tricky. Especially when the people who are picking them out have very different tastes.

I for example, am a sucker for licorice. I could eat that stuff all day. I’m usually mixing a big batch of various licorice with some chocolate and just a few sour or fruity bits.

Kylie on the other hand, hates licorice (K: that’s right, ewwww). Don’t ask me why or where she gets this candy discrimination from, but she won’t even kiss me if I’ve had some (chocolate kisses are soo much better)! But I’m gonna eat it anyway. Because licorice is even worth a lack of kisses. That’s how good it is! (K: it’s all lies!)

We both do love chocolate though, and she really liked some of the sour pieces, so I guess there’s that. But the next bag of candy we buy together will be half licorice, and that half is mine! (K: fine!  You have your icky licorice-half.  I’ll have all my chocolate and snowballs and soda pops and hot lips and frogs and jelly babies and mints and marshmallows and bilar and haribo and we’ll see how long you hold out!)

Östenssons Candy

Leave a Reply

