The One Conflict in Our Relationship

I have always been a night person. My dad likes to call me a night owl, because I often stay up late at night doing stuff, and I tend to sleep in long in the morning, not unusually past noon if it wasn’t a school day or something. And for most of my life, that has been fine. I haven’t had any need to be up earlier unless I had to do something that day.

That all changed when I met Kylie though. Now I have to be up before she goes to bed, so we can spend time together during the day. And that hasn’t always been easy for me, since I keep going to bed late. She keeps telling me I have to go to bed earlier so I can get up earlier, and I’d say she’s right but as they say, it’s hard to teach an old dog to sit (is that what they say? Can’t remember what the actual phrase is but you know which I mean). When I go to school or work or otherwise have some kind of day activity where I consistently have something to do during the day, it’s usually fine. But right now, and in the last few days especially, I’ve slept in really late, and it’s caused some annoyance at me from Kylie’s side. I don’t blame her. She comes home from work at about ten in the morning my time and on weekdays, she goes to bed around one or two in teh afternoon. That’s 3-4 hours we get together, and if I’m asleep for two or three of those hours, I’d be pretty disappointed too.

I’m not trying to make any excuses, it is my own fault that I stay up late, but then again (and I’m about to contradict myself by making an excuse now) I have always been the kind of person who stays up late. It’s just a thing I do. I work better at night. I’m usually more productive, and I get my best ideas at night. And I’m also someone who takes a long time to go to sleep. It’s not uncommon for me to lie in bed for an hour or more before I fall asleep, while Kylie fall asleep within minutes of hitting the pillow. Literally.

So I’ve pretty much got things stacked against me here, and I wish I could change myself to better fit with Kylie’s clock, but it’s hard. I’ve been pretty good at at least being awake at 10 to greet her when she comes home from work, but too often I go back to sleep again.

So this is my public apology. I know I’m a terrible sleeper, and I know my rhythm is too out of sync with yours, but I’m working on it. I want to do better, and I’d say that I’m doing better now than I have in the past, but I could still make improvements. I just ask you to be patient with me. I know I can sometimes mess up and sleep all the way up to when you go to bed, but we have our whole lives in front of us. Just think of how much you’ll enjoy pouring that bucket of water on me in the future when we’ve closed the distance. And know that I’ll probably forgive you for doing it too.

2 thoughts on “The One Conflict in Our Relationship”

  1. He forgot to mention that I still have to wake him during a school/work day because he sleeps through about half a dozen alarms! 😛

    I know you are trying honey, and I appreciate that and I’m sorry if I’m short with you some days. Cutting my own sleep short to spend that bit of extra time with you also contributes to that. I love my night owl and I’ll be able to train you better once we’re living together, haha look out! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

